Reading - Living, Learning & Sharing The Experience

07/28/2008 08:41

 

Why do we read what we read and what do we do with the knowledge and/or wisdom that we have acquired?

I have always been a lover of books. As a child, I would prefer to sit with a good book and take myself away to far away places. Lazy afternoons spent with a strawberry shake and a book bought me so much pleasure. Experiencing the lives of others different from myself taught me that even though we live in different places we are all experiencing life in much the same ways.

As I grew into maturity my reading preferences changed. Ever searching for knowledge and wisdom. I found myself drawn towards everything that would help me grow. Whether academically or spiritually life was a lesson to be learned.

In Titus 3:4-5 Paul says "That they may teach the young women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children. To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed. (KJV)

Entering in a new phase of life I find myself wanting to share the knowledge and wisdom I have experience. I find that I am being drawn to share life's experiences with women not only of my generation but more so to women younger than myself. To help them grow in the peace and joy that is so readily at hand, if only they seek the goodness and grace of the Lord.

Deciding what to read is a choice. Living life victoriously is a choice. Are your reading choices making a difference in your life? Are the books you are reading equipping you for your walk with Christ? Are you reading as you did as a child taking yourself away to far away places escaping the life you now live? Or are you preparing yourself for the task at hand. Living, loving and enjoying the life that Christ our Savior died on the cross for?

Please share your thoughts?   

Enjoy more through this RSS Feed.

Topic: Reading - Living, Learning & Sharing The Experience

No comments found.

New comment