Why Journal?

10/20/2008 11:24

Journaling is a pastime I have always enjoyed. From journaling my hopes and dreams as a teenager to journaling my doubts and fears as an adult, journaling has been a part of my life for quite some time. I received my first journal in my Christmas stocking as a young preteen. My mom knew I loved to write even back then, and so she bought me a beautiful flowered journal for me to begin writing in. I filled it to the brim and needed a new one by the next year. This started a tradition of my getting a journal in my stocking each year.

Journaling became an almost constant in my life, sure I got out of the habit from time to time, but I always seem to slip back into it. It is almost as if I yearn for it, and the feeling that it gives me. If I don’t do it for a while, I begin to get cravings, or feel withdrawal.

The greatest joy that I get out of journaling is when I journal my prayers and then, I am able to look back on those prayers days, months and maybe even years later (I’ve done this) and see the results, the answered prayers, the prayers God said “No” to or “Wait” and I’m able to understand why certain things happened the way that they did and I truly appreciate the circumstances more.

I encourage everyone to journal. Maybe you won’t make it a daily habit, but I hope you’ll do it often enough to appreciate it.

Alyssa Avant is a Christian speaker and writer and founder of Beauty by Design Ministries.  She is the author of a 30 Day Journaling Guide.  

Rediscover yourself through journaling with this 30 Day Journaling Guide"

 

 Subscribe in a reader

Topic: Why Journal?

John

Date: 09/30/2016 | By: Smithd833

Enjoyed studying this, very good stuff, regards . A man may learn wisdom even from a foe. by Aristophanes. febdgeedbcaddfdd

♥ free chat www.supondo.com ♥

Date: 03/06/2012 | By: ♥ Maria 20 sexy ♥

♥ yes a free chatroom under www.supondo.com This chat also works on android and iphone, ipad, kostenlos , gratis, chatten , social network ♥

New comment